Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show SC.gov Links

On This Page:

Materials that can be Checked Out

Check-out periods and overdue fines

Identification needed to issue a library card

Library cards for children

Library cards for Williamsburg Co. residents

Library cards for non-residents

 

CHECKING OUT MATERIALS:

Library patrons with a valid library card can check out the following:

  • Books (up to 25)
  • Audio Books (up to 5)
  • Videos/DVDs (up to 5)
  • Music Cassettes/CDs (up to 5)
  • Magazines (up to 5)

Check-out periods and over-due fines:

  • Books 2 weeks ($0.10/day)
  • Nonfiction Books 3 weeks ($0.10/day)
  • Juvenile Holiday 2 weeks ($0.10/day)
  • Videos/DVDs 1 week ($0.50/day)
  • Audio Books 2 weeks ($0.25/day)
  • Cassettes/CDs 2 weeks ($0.25/day)
  • Magazines 2 weeks ($0.10/day)

IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED TO BE ISSUED A LIBRARY CARD:

  • Driver's license (with current Georgetown County address)
  • State-issued Identification Card (with current Georgetown County address)

OR

Two of the following forms of identification, with at least one providing name and current address:

  • Driver's license (out of state with old address is acceptable)
  • School ID with photo and no address
  • Military ID with photo
  • Preprinted checkbook with address
  • First class mail addressed to patron with a current postmark
  • Voter Registration Card
  • Telephone number and address listed in current telephone directory
  • Current passport with photo
  • One-year lease agreement issued to patron
  • Verbal verification from Georgetown County Tax Assessor of property ownership.

LIBRARY CARDS FOR CHILDREN

There is no age requirement for Children's Library Cards. The parent or legal guardian must have a current Library Card, be in good standing, and must accompany the child to obtain a library card. Parents or guardians must accept full responsibility for materials checked out with their child's Library Card.

LIBRARY CARDS FOR WILLIAMSBURG AND HORRY COUNTY RESIDENTS

Williamsburg and Horry County residents may obtain a Library Card if:

  • The patron has a Williamsburg or Horry County Library Card in good standing
  • The patron provides identification required for Library Cards listed above.

LIBRARY CARDS FOR NON-RESIDENTS

  • Patrons from out-of-state or a different county in South Carolina may obtain a Library Card for an $8.00 fee.
  • Non-resident Library Cards are valid for one year from date of purchase.
  • Main Branch: 843.545.3300
  • Waccamaw: 843.545.3623
  • Andrews: 843.545.3621
  • Carvers Bay: 843.545.3515